Health

Back to reality…

Well, it has been a while since I’ve made any post on health or fitness.  Over the last 3 plus years, there have been some major changes in my life.  I went from living a single life in Orange County to moving back home with my parents and working as a secretary at a local law firm.  Then I went from living at home to purchasing a home with my sister.  We lived in that house for 2.5 years.  Then, I met someone and my sister did about a year later.  While my sister and I lived together, we both got engaged and married.  It was during this time that we decided to sell our home and focus on this new life with our husbands.

This change is exciting and different.  I am so eager to see where God takes us and our little family.  Learning to live with my husband is an adventure, especially when my experience with roommates have only been with college girlfriends or my sister.  My sister married in September (I was her maid of honor) and I married in December, so between working full time, going to school full time, getting married and moving, then leaving for our honeymoon; I am finally starting to settle in.

Due to the different things going on, I got lazy and returned to some bad habits.  Instead of going to bed early so I can wake up early and run before work, I’ve been staying up late, which means I only wake up early enough to do my bible study and get ready for work.  In addition, I’ve been eating loads of grains, starchy foods and sweets.  While this went well for a while with no repercussions, I began to notice little breakouts all over my face the other day. (no bueno).

So this morning I woke and decided to get on that healthy train again.  I didn’t have time for a run but I decided I could start by being mindful of what I put in my mouth.  I prepared a smoothie, made my lunch and even had some leftover smoothie for my husband, which I gave him before he left for work.  I spent time reading the Word and really study it.  God has been showing me a lot about how POWERFUL our words are and how heart and mind are connected to our words.  When I got to work, I began listening to a Joyce Meyer’s podcast while handling some paperwork.

Now as I listened to Joyce, she began to speak on the discipline of our bodies.  The premise of the topic was that our bodies are not our own.  To do God’s work, we need to take care of our bodies so that we have the energy to do His work.

Now some people say that God only spoke to the early Christians, however, when I heard Joyce speak, I could feel the Holy Spirit nudge me.  My thought in that moment was, ‘Ok, God, I can take a hint, you meant for me to hear this.’  Since the thought of being healthy and needing to WILL myself to make a healthy change had been on my mind for the last 2 days; I knew God meant this message for me.

So, with that said, I’m going to do my best to be diligent every day to make healthy living choices.  I hope that you find encouragement from this post.  I’ve even provided a link to the Joyce Meyer’s podcast I was listening to.  It really was a good, short, powerful sermon.

Joyce Meyer:  Your Body is God’s Home:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/your-body-is-gods-home-part-1/id152564333?i=1000379715759&mt=2

Leave a Reply

