Devotional

More…

What is God doing in your life?  What are you doing in your life?  Those are some BIG questions.  It’s funny to think about it now, but I remember when my parents (or adults in general) would say, “Don’t be in a hurry to grow up.  It will come sooner than you think.”  Well as a 12-year-old kid, one year seems like FOREVER!  But when I think about those words now, I think I’m beginning to understand.  As I dive into the Word every morning and dedicate some one-on-one time with God, I feel this pull on my heart for MORE.

I want to learn More of Him, I want to Live More, I want to use the gifts He’s given me, I want to be fearless, I want to STICK to a goal I set for myself.  There is just so much!  I just recently got married and I’m sure many people will say I am still in the honeymoon part of my marriage; however, I have known my husband for 2.5 years before the actual day of our wedding.  He is such a fun, energetic, ambitious man and although I get frustrated with him because he doesn’t see things the same way I do at times, I love him very much.

Not to get side-tracked but my mom said something while I was visiting her after I got back from my honeymoon that stuck with me.  She emphasized the importance to ENJOY these early moments of my new life in my marriage.  She told me that when she was young, many told her, while she was a newly-wed or a new mother to cherish those moments, even when those moments were frustrating.  She said at the time she didn’t really understand that statement but understood it now. As both her daughters have now grown up and married; she explained that life is short and you don’t realize it when you are at your beginning.

Just after having that conversation with her, I was listening to Joyce Meyer and she said the same thing.  While of course my mom was referencing life; Joyce too was referencing life, but also our spiritual life.

My challenge to myself this year is to be Intentional.  I don’t want to come before the Lord at the end of my time and say, “Well there was more I could have done, I was just too scared to do it.”  God is sooo good and bigger and beyond our comprehension.  During one of my devotional days I came across Matthew 28:20-” I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Wow! Does that not blow you away?!! God loves me sooooooo much that even when I am afraid, discouraged, hurt, sinning (not that I do it intentionally), He is and was there!

I read another scripture in Deuteronomy 28:1-19; it would be a disservice for me to just give you the desert part of the scripture but in a nutshell, it explains that if we make Life giving decisions, then the Lord will Bless us.  His hand of blessing will be on us (even in those hard times).  However, it also explains that if we intentionally make decisions against Him and do not fully obey the Lord, His blessing will be pulled away from our lives.

I don’t want to hinder those possible future blessing from God.  I know this year is going to be different in more ways than one, but I am ready for it.  I know I can’t do it in my own strength, but IN HIS strength, I can do Anything.  I can do MORE!

I hope this encouraged you in some way. Even if no one reads this, I’m ministering to myself at least. God bless and remember that You are a Blessing!

Leave a Reply

